American College of Sports Medicine Installs New Officers

Add to Favorites

Contact Information



Available for logged-in reporters only



Newswise — INDIANAPOLIS— The American College of Sports Medicine commissioned a officers for 2016-17 during a organization’s annual assembly in Boston, Mass. Lawrence A. Armstrong, Ph.D., FACSM, 2015-16 president, upheld a gavel to Elizabeth A. Joy, MD, MPH, FACSM as a 59th boss of ACSM. Dr. Joy is a medicine practicing during Intermountain Healthcare in Salt Lake City.

In further to portion as medical executive for Community Health and Clinical Nutrition during Intermountain Healthcare, Dr. Joy practices family medicine and sports medicine during a Salt Lake LiVe Well Center, and is an accessory highbrow during a University of Utah School of Medicine in a Department of Family and Preventive Medicine. She has formerly served as clamp president, and on a Board of Trustees of ACSM, and was on a Board of Trustees for a American Medical Society for Sports Medicine. She is on a editorial house for a Clinical Journal of Sports Medicine and is an associate editor for Current Sports Medicine Reports.

Walter R. Thompson, Ph.D., FACSM, of Georgia State University was commissioned as president-elect. Holly Benjamin, M.D., FACSM, of University of Chicago and William Kraus, M.D., FACSM of Duke University’s School of Medicine were commissioned as clamp presidents. Click here for a finish list of new officers.

The American College of Sports Medicine is a largest sports medicine and practice scholarship classification in a world. More than 50,000 international, inhabitant and informal members and approved professionals are dedicated to advancing and integrating systematic investigate to yield educational and unsentimental applications of practice scholarship and sports medicine.



Leave a comment…

Leave a Comment